What is the Chinese Yuan Renminbi (CNY)? Basic information about the Chinese Yuan Renminbi Pound currency

The Chinese yuan renminbi (simplified Chinese: 人民币), or CNY, which means ‘people’s currency’, is the official currency of the People’s Republic of China. The term ‘renminbi’ refers to the name of the currency while ‘yuan’ refers to the basic unit of the Chinese currency. The symbol of the renminbi is ¥. As it is shared with the Japanese yen (JPY), CN¥ is sometimes used to distinguish the Chinese yuan renminbi from the yen.

What is the South African Rand (ZAR)? Basic information about the South African Rand currency

The South African rand (ZAR) is the currency of South Africa and is issued by the South African Reserve Bank. The South African rand has the symbol R. It is subdivided into 100 cents. The name is derived from the word ‘Witwatersrand’, which means ‘ridge of white waters’. The ridge is where most of South Africa’s gold deposits were found and where Johannesburg was built.

What is the Great British Pound (GBP)? Basic information about the Great British Pound currency

The pound sterling, or GBP, is the official currency of the United Kingdom. The pound is also used in Jersey, Guernsey, Gibraltar, the Isle of Man, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, the British Antarctic Territory, and Tristan da Cunha. The GBP is subdivided into 100 pence. The symbol for the British pound is £.

What is the Hong Kong Dollar (HKD)? Basic information about the Hong Kong Dollar currency

Introduced in 1863, the Hong Kong dollar (Chinese: 港元), or HKD, is the official currency of Hong Kong. The symbol of the Hong Kong dollar is $, along with HK$, which is sometimes used to distinguish Hong Kong dollars from other dollar-denominated currencies. Hong Kong dollars are also used in Macau, where the local currency Macau patacan is pegged to HKD.