What is the Great British Pound (GBP)? Basic information about the Great British Pound currency

The pound sterling, or GBP, is the official currency of the United Kingdom. The pound is also used in Jersey, Guernsey, Gibraltar, the Isle of Man, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, the British Antarctic Territory, and Tristan da Cunha. The GBP is subdivided into 100 pence. The symbol for the British pound is £.